Elections: LP Wins Amuwo Odofin Reps Seat As APC Clears 3 Senate Seats, Wins 20 of 24 Reps Seats In Lagos

Follow Us On Social Media

National assemblyCandidate of the Labour Party (LP) for the Amuwo-Odofin federal constituency seat, George Adegeye has been declared the winner.

Abayomi Okanlawon, the returning officer for the election, announced that Adegeye got 46,702 votes ahead of Lanre Sanusi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 12,946 votes.

Oghene Ego, the incumbent legislator and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), came third after polling 5, 752 votes.

Adegeye, in his acceptance letter, said he would uphold his promises, adding that the constituency would have a “people-focused representation again”.

“I don’t make empty promises, but we all should be assured that I will not betray the people’s trust as overwhelmingly demonstrated through the ballot box on February 25, 2023. The victory is for the good people of Amuwo-Odofin Federal Constituency,” he said.

This comes after Thaddeus Attah of the Labour Party (LP) was also declared the winner of the Eti-Osa federal constituency seat in the House of Representatives.

Attah won with 24,075 votes to beat Banky W of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who had 18,666 votes, while Babjide Obanikoro of the All Progressive Congress (APC) secured the third spot with 16,901 votes.

Meanwhile, Candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have been declared the winners of the three senatorial seats in Lagos State, recording landslide victories across the National Assembly slots.

Former Deputy Governor, Dr. Idiat Adebule, won the Lagos West senatorial election, polling 361,296 votes to defeat her main challenger of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Segun Adewale, who scored 248,653 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Lagos West Senatorial District Collation Officer, Prof Solomon Akinboye, expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the election

INEC also returned Senator Tokunbo Abiru as the winner of the Lagos East senatorial election.

The INEC Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Simeon Adebayo Oladipo, who declared the results in Somolu, said Abiru polled 178,646 votes to defeat the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Akodada Nicholas Adekunle, who garnered 80,249 votes.

Abiru is the incumbent senator representing the senatorial district.

Lagos Deputy Speaker, Wasiu Eshinlokun, defeated PDP’s Gomez Adewale Francis to clinch the Lagos Central Senatorial District.

Eshinlokun garnered 131,828 votes, while Francis polled 69,320 votes and OIadeji Blessing Tunde of the Young Progressives Party scored 14, 941 votes to become the second runner-up.

APC has also cleared the House of Representatives seats in Lagos, with Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila being elected for the sixth time.

APC won 20 of the 24 Reps seats in the just concluded federal elections.



Follow Us On Social Media